Understanding the Arthur hierarchy

Modified on Wed, 20 Mar 2024 at 09:03 AM


The hierarchy in Arthur has three key levels: the property, the unit and the tenancy (see diagrams below). This hierarchy works like a waterfall, with data at the top of the waterfall (e.g. the property) being able to be shared down to the levels below, making for an efficient way of sharing data. 

Dependant on the type of portfolio you manage, you may use all three levels of the hierarchy or just two. Each level represents a different part of your portfolio and you will find corresponding functionality to match. The levels are defined as follows:

  • Property – The asset that contains the unit being rented – e.g. the block that contains the flat(s), the ground the house is built on, the house that contains the rooms, the estate the warehouse is on, the building the office is in
  • Unit – The thing that is being rented – e.g. the flat in a block, the house, the room, the shop, the office, the desk. This is linked to creating unit types
  • Tenancy – A digital reflect of the agreement you and your tenants have e.g. AST, Licensee, Commercial Lease

Almost every function performed in Arthur, (e.g. adding a task, posting a message, creating a viewing) will have a relationship to one of these levels. This information will then be visible whenever you are in that record.


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article